"Anyone could have done his job, but those of little consequence often mistake convenience for importance."

Along the razor's edge

by Rob J. Hayes

along the razor's edge

Along the razor's edge

by rob j. edge

What is it about?

No one escapes the Pit.

At just fifteen Eskara Helsene fought in the greatest war mankind has ever known. Fought and lost. 

There is only one place her enemies would send a Sourcerer as powerful as her, the Pit, a prison sunk so deep into the earth the sun is a distant memory. 

Now she finds herself stripped of her magic; a young girl surrounded by thieves, murderers, and worse. 

In order to survive she will need to find new allies, play the inmates against each other, and find a way out. Her enemies will soon find Eskara is not so easily broken.

An emotional roller coaster in this unique coming of age story. Perfect for fans of Patrick Rothfuss and Mark Lawrence, be one of the first dive into Award-Winning Author Rob J. Hayes’ new epic fantasy world.

Rebecca's Review

Interesting story – with a lot of promise…

Eskara was captured at the end of the great war. She had the great misfortune of being on the losing side, and now, she is a prisoner. There is no escaping from where she is headed, and she knows it. She is a sorcerer – one that is powerful, and the victor is not going to take any chances with any of their prisoners escaping – no matter their skill set. 

While she may be a prisoner, she is not about to give up – and that determination is what keeps her going throughout each and every day. As she navigates the world of the Pit, there are secrets lurking, and one has to wonder if all that digging is for more than just breaking one’s spirit.

Now, day is a relative term in her new living arrangements. The sun does not shine where she is kept, and so there is no real track of time – except when the warden wants to see you. That is something that you can always count on – the abuse and humiliation that the warden will rain down on each prisoner. But that is only the beginning…

My Review:

As I stated, this book held a lot of promise. As the book started off, it felt as though it was dragging – the promise of good things to come in future pages. I kept reading. I kept waiting. While there were passages so great, it compelled me to continue reading. I could not help but feel disappointed as I continued reading through the book.

The main character is hard to really like – you want to like her, and you look for the redeeming qualities, but I just could not bring myself to like her at all. It felt like all she could muster was the attitude of a whiny, petulant child. The other characters – well, they are there, but they almost feel sidelined. There are quite a few – and I suggest a good notebook to track and note them as they move throughout the story – it helps to keep them all straight.

I know that no one ever reads the same book twice, and I know that there are others out there who have loved and raved over this book. I just could not get over the feelings of disappointment and the overall feeling that this book just dragged out too long. There are a few more books in this series, and those might help to redeem the disappointment in this one. 

Rob J. Hayes is a fabulous author and one that can wrangle the intensity of the fantasy world, but this just fell off the track too soon.

Check Out SOME OF OUR OTHER REVIEWS

If You Liked This - Please Share the Love

Rebecca Hill

Hello! I am Becca, and you can find me at ataleoftwopages.blog or

@duchessofreadin on Twitter! I am a mom of two boys and have been married to my husband for almost 15 years. I am a hopeless book addict, and you can usually find me with at least 3 books on the go. In addition to reading, I teach college history courses, work in DC as a Communications Analyst, and also work in social media management and book editing! I also enjoy some crafting, so if I am not physically reading a book, I am listening to one while I relax with a project. I stay happily busy!

Tell me what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Let's Stay In Touch!Get updated content, book reviews, and other bookish things from beforewegoblog sent straight to your mailbox.
%d bloggers like this: