Top Ten Space Operas To Read for Adventure

“Life is beautiful and life is stupid. This is, in fact, widely regarded as a universal rule not less inviolable than the Second Law of Thermodynamics, the Uncertainty Principle, and No Post on Sundays. As long as you keep that in mind, and never give more weight to one than the other, the history of the galaxy is a simple tune with lyrics flashed on-screen and a helpful, friendly bouncing disco ball of all-annihilating flames to help you follow along.” – Space Opera by Catherynne M. Valente

Chaos Theory Run Wild in Oracle Year by Charles Soule

“a cup of room coffee,” Will said. “It’s terrible, tastes like chemicals and poison.” ― Charles Soule, The Oracle Year About From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future—perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This …

First Chapter, First Paragraph – The Hatching (The Hatching #1) by Ezekiel Boone

“part of Melanie, even with all that was going on in the lab, that hoped he’d stick around DC and give her a chance to see what he looked like wearing nothing but his handcuffs. There was only a part of her that had wanted Agent Rich to stay, however, because the bigger part of her wasn’t sure she’d ever want to leave her lab. These things were fucking incredible. And she’d started calling them “things” because she wasn’t sure they were really even spiders. At least not the way she’d come to think of spiders. There are thirty-five thousand species”
― Ezekiel Boone, The Hatching

#MusicMonday Tennessee Whiskey – Chris Stapleton

#musicmonday Music That Speaks to Me Sometimes a song, is more than a song. Lyrics I used to spend my nights out in a barroom Liquor was the only love I’ve known But you rescued me from reachin’ for the bottom And brought me back from being too far gone You’re as smooth as Tennessee whiskey You’re as sweet as …

Review of A Witch’s Guide to Escape: A Practical Compendium of Portal Fantasies by Alix E. Harrow

The Magic of Librarians “God save me from the yearners. The insatiable, the inconsolable, the ones who chafe and claw against the edges of the world. No book can save them. (That’s a lie. There are Books potent enough to save any mortal soul: books of witchery, augury, alchemy; books with wand-wood in their spines and moon-dust on their pages; …