Tag Archives: ARC

Chaos Theory Run Wild in Oracle Year by Charles Soule

“a cup of room coffee,” Will said. “It’s terrible, tastes like chemicals and poison.” ― Charles Soule, The Oracle Year About From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future—perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This …

Blossoms in Autumn: Script by Zidrou / Art by Aimée de Jongh

About Ulysses, a middle-aged widower, is forced into early retirement from his moving job. At a loss for what to do next, the course of his life is changed by a chance encounter with a fellow lonely soul at, of all places, his son’s OB/GYN office. Mediterranea, who recently lost her mother, runs a cheese shop that she took over …

First Chapter, First Paragraph Finding Baba Yaga: A Short Novel in Verse by Jane Yollen

First Chapter, First Paragraph Finding Baba Yaga: A Short Novel in Verse By Jane Yollen First Chapter, First Paragraph You Think You Know This Story You think you know this story. You do not. You think it is about a princess who runs from a wicked king. It is not. You think it is about a charming prince who rescues, …

First Chapter, First Paragraph Ash Kickers – Sean Grigsby

First Chapter, First Paragraph Ash Kickers First Chapter, First Paragraph My give-a-damn was busted. Now, if my mama had been standing beside me on the top of that Slayer truck, she would have said, “Tamerica Janeese Williams, why are you just staring at that dragon? Don’t you have a job to do?” I was staring at the dragon – this golden-brown bastard …

Book Review of A Dead Djinn in Cairo by P. Djeli Clark

“Quite dreadful. No one liked desk duty. It often seemed half their job was paperwork as it was. Who joined the Ministry for the thrill of filling out endless reports, in triplicate no less? Then again, he thought dismally, neither did they expect to spend their days haggling with government bureaucrats over haunted tram cars.” RATING  4/5 STATS ebook, 41 …