Skip to main content

“Will Parks Needs to Man Up.”

 

What is Man Down about?

A man stands. A man fights. A man bleeds.

These are the first lessons you learn in a town where girls are objects, words are weak and fists do the talking.

Will’s more at home in the classroom than the gym, and the most important woman in his life is his gran. So how can a boy who’s always backed away from a fight become the hero who saves the day?

Because a disaster is coming. One that Will can prevent. But only if he learns the most important lesson of all: sometimes to step up, you have to man down.

A searingly powerful exploration of toxic masculinity, perfect for fans of Juno Dawson or They Both Die at the End.

 

 

What Folks are Saying About Man Down?

‘Staggeringly good . . . had me hanging on every word’ Louisa Reid, author of Wrecked and Lies Like Love

‘Good books make you feel something. Great books change the way you feel about everything. Man Down is a great book. No one is writing about young men’s lives with as much warmth, empathy and humour as James is right now.’ Samuel Pollen, author of The Year I Didn’t Eat

‘Utterly compelling, completely original and will undoubtedly be one of the standout books of 2022. An absolute must read’ – Adam Simcox, author of The Dying Squad

‘An excellent look at what it means to “be a man” amid a culture of peer pressure and toxic masculinity while navigating desire and friendship. Loved it.’ – Anna Stephens, author of Godblind

‘Emotionally complex, dark and clever – a very unexpected, thoughtful and original book. I can honestly think of no other YA quite like it.’ – Gina Blaxill, author of Saving Silence

Where Can You Find Man Down?

About the Author

James lives in Surrey with his wife and newborn son.

He took up writing three years ago. A mechanic by day, much of his work has been written at an oil stained workbench whilst ignoring a queue of broken cars in need of his attention.

James is also a keen musician, regularly gigging as a rhythm & blues pianist.

​James’ debut YA novel, Last Lesson, tackling teen mental illness and toxic masculinity, was published in spring 2020 by Penguin Random House Children’s.

Twitter

 

 

2 Comments

Tell me what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: