Skip to main content

Fall is the perfect time to curl up with some fabulous horror books. I have been a fan of the Scare Street books for quite some time. They are, in my opinion, very underrated books. If you are looking for horrors upon horrors, you have to check them out. 

There is one series in particular that is among my favorites that they have done. The Haunted Village is a series of nine books, and each one builds upon the last. While you don’t have to read them in order, it helps to follow the storyline. The main character, Marcus Holt is one that you are going to fall in love with almost immediately. He has the no-nonsense viewpoint of a veteran. I was drawn to his character from the start, which may be why I loved these books so much. However, there will be other characters added in, and you will even get to meet some of the resident ghosts. One thing to note, not all the ghosts want to be bothered – and when you discover the reason behind the village, well, I won’t spoil it for you!

Why The Haunted Village?

What sets these apart? It is not so much that there are ghosts, no, it’s more the mind of someone that could conceive this series – and it is beyond perfection. The author, Ron Ripley, brings to life stories that make you feel as though it could honestly happen, that someone has actually lived through these terrors, and survived. Whether or not you believe in ghosts, the Haunted Village will endear you to some characters, and make you loathe others. 

List of The Haunted Village Series:

  • Worthe’s Village
  • Hell’s Hammer
  • Butcher’s Hands
  • Soul Harvest
  • Poisonous Whispers
  • Brutal Lessons
  • Christopher’s Blade
  • Silent Death
  • Deranged Souls

As we settle into a time of year where spooky books are among some of the top reads, why not start with this series? Just a warning though, once you start reading these books, you are going to want to read more!

Read more about Scare Street here: 

Leave a Reply